Leslie Valiant
T. Jefferson Coolidge Professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics, Harvard University

Leslie Valiant,was educated at King's College, Cambridge; Imperial College, London; and at Warwick University where he received his Ph.D. in computer science in 1974. He is currently T. Jefferson Coolidge Professor of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences at Harvard University, where he has taught since 1982. Before coming to Harvard he had taught at Carnegie Mellon University, Leeds University, and the University of Edinburgh.
His work has ranged over several areas of theoretical computer science, particularly complexity theory, learning, and parallel computation. He also has interests in computational neuroscience, evolution and artificial intelligence and is the author of two books, Circuits of the Mind, and Probably Approximately Correct.
He received the Nevanlinna Prize at the International Congress of Mathematicians in 1986, the Knuth Award in 1997, the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science EATCS Award in 2008, and the 2010 A. M. Turing Award. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society (London) and a member of the National Academy of Sciences (USA).

Michael J. Franklin
Liew Family Chair of Computer Science, University of Chicago

Michael J. Franklin, is the inaugural holder of the Liew Family Chair of Computer Science. An authority on databases, data analytics, data management and distributed systems, he also serves as senior advisor to the provost on computation and data science.
Franklin most recently was the Thomas M. Siebel Professor of Computer Science and chair of the Computer Science Division of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences at the University of California, Berkeley, where he currently is an Adjunct Professor. He co-founded and directs Berkeley’s Algorithms, Machines and People Laboratory (AMPLab), a leading academic big data analytics research center, The AMPLab won a National Science Foundation CISE "Expeditions in Computing" award, which was announced as part of the White House Big Data Research initiative in March 2012, and has received support from over 30 industrial sponsors. AMPLab has created industry-changing open source Big Data software including Apache Spark and BDAS, the Berkeley Data Analytics Stack. At Berkeley he also served as an executive committee member for the Berkeley Institute for Data Science, a campus-wide initiative to advance data science environments.
An energetic entrepreneur in addition to his academic work, Franklin founded and became chief technology officer of Truviso, a data analytics company acquired by Cisco Systems. He serves on the technical advisory boards of various data-driven technology companies and organizations.
Franklin is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery and a two-time recipient of the ACM SIGMOD (Special Interest Group on Management of Data) “Test of Time” award. His many other honors include the outstanding advisor award from Berkeley’s Computer Science Graduate Student Association. He received the Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin in 1993, a Master of Software Engineering from the Wang Institute of Graduate Studies in 1986, and the B.S. in Computer and Information Science from the University of Massachusetts in 1983.

Aidong Zhang
Distinguished Professor, State University of New York at Buffalo

Aidong Zhang, is a SUNY Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Buffalo where she served as Department Chair from 2009 to 2015. She is currently on leave and serving as Program Director in the Information & Intelligent Systems Division of the Directorate for Computer & Information Science & Engineering, National Science Foundation. Her research interests include data analytics/data science, bioinformatics, and health informatics, and she has authored over 300 research publications in these areas. Dr. Zhang currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Computational Biology and Bioinformatics (TCBB). She served as the founding Chair of ACM Special Interest Group on Bioinformatics, Computational Biology and Biomedical Informatics during 2011-2015 and is currently Chair of its advisory board. She is also the founding and steering chair of ACM international conference on Bioinformatics, Computational Biology and Health Informatics. She has served as editor for several other journal editorial boards, and has also chaired or served on numerous program committees of international conferences and workshops. Dr. Zhang is an IEEE Fellow.

Peter Boyle
President, International Prevention Research Institute

Peter Boyle,’s appointment as President of the International Prevention Research Institute, Lyon, France follows immediately on his tenure as Director of the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC/WHO). From 1991-2004 he was Director of the Division of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the Institute of Oncology in Milan, Italy. Prior to that he held posts as Senior Scientist at IARC, Assistant Professor in Epidemiology and Biostatistics at Harvard School of Public Health and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute (Boston, United States), the West of Scotland Cancer Surveillance Unit (Glasgow, United Kingdom) and the Department of Medicine at Glasgow University.
Professor Boyle is the inaugural Director of the University of Strathclyde Institute of Global Public Health at iPRI, which is situated in Lyon and Glasgow. He is Professor of Global Public Health at the University of Strathclyde and currently holds Honorary or Visiting Professorships at Glasgow University and Yale University. He is founder and President of the World Prevention Alliance, a non-governmental organisation committed to prevention research and actions in lower income countries.
Peter Boyle’s research interests lie in disease prevention and translational research in its broadest sense, from translating cutting-edge scientific discovery into new approaches to treatment to translating information about risk factors into changes in population behaviour. He led the EUROCAN+PLUS project which developed priorities for coordination of cancer research in Europe and was Editor of the World Cancer Report 2008 and the State of Oncology 2013 which highlighted the growing global cancer crisis. The recent publication of State of Oncology in Africa 2015 and the accompanying film Cancer is … Attacking Africa, highlight the need for action against chronic disease in low-resource countries.
Peter Boyle has previously been a Member of the European Cancer Advisory Board and worked as the scientific advisor to the European Commission on the European Tobacco Contents Directive which was voted into law in 2002. He was also responsible for the revisions of the European Code Against Cancer.
Peter Boyle has been awarded the Knight’s Cross of Order of Merit of the Republic of Poland; Fellowship of the Royal Society of Edinburgh; Honorary Membership in the European Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology (ESTRO), the Hungarian Oncological Association and the Argentine Medical Association; Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons (Glasgow); Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians (Edinburgh); Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland; Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences (United Kingdom); Membership of the European Cancer Academy; Membership of Academia Europea; and Honorary Membership of the Hungarian Academy of Science. He has been awarded honorary doctorates by the Universities of Aberdeen (DSc) and Dundee (LlD).